Windows Guides Feed

I recently had an issue trying to install Office 2010. To get it fixed, a system restore seemed like the proper action to take. The purpose of System Restore is to return your computer to a previous state under which it was operating as it should. This guide will walk you through restoring your system to a previous ‘good state’.

Before we start though, make sure you save any work and close all programs.

Step 1.

Click on the Start Orb, type system restore and click on System Restore from the results list.

Step 2.

The System Restore window will appear, Windows recommends a restore point to roll back to. I always like to see a little more info before deciding, so I check the Choose a different restore point radio button and hit Next >.

Step 3.

You’ll now see a list of the most recent restore points. If you’d like to see more, check Show more restore points. To see more information on a restore point, select one and click Scan for affected programs.

Windows will now scan for affected programs and drivers.

Once the scan has finished, it’ll list programs and drivers that will be deleted and programs and drivers that will be restored.

Note: Despite the restoration of programs, some may require reinstallation.

Click Close to go back and select or review other restore points.

Step 4.

Once you are happy with a restore point, select it and click Next >.

You will now be asked to confirm your restore point.

See this video on creating a password reset disk if you have recently changed your password.

Review the restore point and hit Finish.

A warning appears notifying you that from now on the process will now go ahead and cannot be interrupted.

Note: At this point, save any open files and make sure to close all programs.

Click Yes to finish.

Your system will now start the process of restoration.

During the process, Windows will make a restore point of the system before you invoked system restore. If you are performing the system restoration in safe mode or in the System recovery options, a restore point will not be made and cannot be undone.

Your system will now reboot and upon logging back in, you’ll receive a status confirmation. Click Close and you can use your system as per your select restore point.



Free PC tips by email

Search Windows Guides




Comments

  • Jflakjflwre

    thanks a lot.you have been a great help

  • Marahman 418

    thanks for the info


Computer tips in your inbox
Sign up for the Windows Guides newsletter to get PC tips and access to free Windows books (More details)

Enter your email address:
 

Popular Guides

See which sites have been visited on your PC (even if private browsing mode is used)

Create a Windows 7 System Repair Disc

Best Free Anti-malware

Hibernate vs. Sleep vs. Shut-Down

i3, i5, and i7; Dual, Quad, Hexa Core Processors. How to they Differ?

Intel's Ivy Bridge Processor: new Features

Submit Your Tip
Submit your computer tip to us; receive full credit for all published tips

Windows Guides on Facebook